Folsom Prison Blues

 

Ashley DeYoung Photography

Ashley DeYoung Photography blog

 

I was asked to take pictures of this guy. He was in a band called “Smokin Mother Nature”.  I have to say, it was one of my favorite shoots.

Some photographers plan out ideas, look at photographs of other photographers’ work for inspiration. If you’d ask people that know me to describe me, they would say Ashley is not a planner.

So I show up at this golf course with all of my gear and my makeup artist. I have no idea what I was going to do or how these photos would turn out. It was early in the morning. The guy in the photograph above (lets refer to him as Drew) decided he wanted to shoot on the train track. The only problem is it was an active train track in Murfreesboro, TN. 

We climbed up this hill to get to it, equipment and all. I started shooting Drew and the model he hired for the shoot. Then I realized while looking through my lens that a train was coming…FAST!

I freaked and had a panic attack for about 15 seconds until I realized I needed to run down the hill. Drew insisted that he was going to stay up there and sit on the edge of this bridge the train went over. He was probably two feet from the train. I ran down the hill, grabbed a telephoto lens and started shooting him as he played the Johnny Cash song “Folsom Prison Blues”, he sang “I hear the train a comin’, it’s rollin’ ’round the bend, And I ain’t seen the sunshine, since, I don’t know when…”

I’m freaking out and continuing to shoot. After the train passed, I turn around and a group of elderly golfers is standing behind us with their mouths to the ground just staring and probably thinking what the crap??

Anyhow, It was good times. I can’t say that I’ve had a shoot quite like that since. 

So many events happened at that shoot, I could write an entire book about it. 

Classic!

-Ash 

MY WEBSITE http://www.ashleydeyoung.com

Leave a Reply

