Today is a gift…that’s why it’s called the present!

I used to blog a lot. In fact, I was just looking through an old blog that I kept on Xanga. The last post I wrote was Dec. 20, 2008. I kept this blog through most of college. I have no clue why I quit.

The last post I had was talking about a cartoon that I had watched with these boys I was babysitting. The cartoon was Kung Fu Panda. It’s not my favorite movie…I prefer Wall-E or A Bugs Life. In the movie, the master Kung-fu guy said,

you are too concerned with what was and what will be. Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift, and that’s why it’s called the present.

At the time, it caught my attention, but today it does more than ever.

Exactly one month ago, I was having an emergency appendectomy during my out of town visit to my boyfriend’s family for Christmas. And while they caught my appendicitis in time, I began to think how I think I’m invincible and that nothing can ever happen to me. Boy, am I wrong!

I have spent the last 12 months complaining. But I realized I spent more time complaining than I did being thankful. Time is precious and it’s slipping beneath me fast. I need to spend more time choosing joy even through the negative times, because it’s those times that shape my character!

Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

