A random blog…

I’ve noticed girls complain about their bodies since I was in middle school. Nothing drives me more crazy than to sit and listen to girls nitpick at their body when I look at them and see beauty. As a photographer, I look beyond the flaws and see beauty inside and out. I wish the world was peachy and everyone was satisfied with their self image.

So lately, I’m becoming obsessive with getting myself into shape. Don’t get me wrong, I love that I am skinny. I’m not trying to lose weight, I just want to be healthy!

Let’s cut to the chase…
-I’m 5’11” on a good day, 5’10.5″ normally.
-roughly 135 lbs (underweight for a medium body frame)
-Up until yesterday, I worked out approx 2 times per year.
-I have a fast metabolism, can eat anything I want and not gain weight.
-I hate eating, so I only do when I’m hungry.

To most people, it sounds ideal.

But here are the facts.
-I get sick every few weeks with a sore throat, runny nose, etc.
-I have allergies, and think I was allergic to my down comforter, which caused those symptoms.
-I had mono for an entire summer, I relapsed several times, and still have effects from it.
-Because of mono, I had my tonsils and adenoids removed. And therefore, have a weak immune system.
-I recently got appendicitis and had my appendix removed.
-I’m tired a lot and sleep a lot.
-I get terrible knee pains when I walk a lot or with weather changes.

After my recent appendectomy, I decided I needed a lifestyle and wasn’t sure how to do it.

I joined a gym yesterday, took ibuprofen before I went, ran 3 miles on the elliptical machine, and then did leg and arm strengthening. I felt amazing after I left. I’m sore today, but it’s totally worth it. I haven’t felt this good in years.

So it inspired me to go completely healthy. Partly because I noticed a few small dimples forming on my thighs. This may be due to the fatty foods I consume.

I bought the Nivea GoodBye Cellulite gel (about 10 bucks)

and I may be crazy, but I feel as if it’s working already. I’ve only used it twice, but I feel my skin is firmer and the dimples are reduced a smidgen.

I bought Jergen’s Natural Glow tanning lotion (Always a favorite of mine and around 6 bucks!)

It gives my skin a glow.

I’ve been using this “Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque” to help improve my complexion.



(It’s 3 bucks and works great for blemishes!)

I’m drinking more water than ever, and besides sweet tea (which I’m unfortunately limiting my intake) I only drink water. It’s a “no more sweets” kind of lifestlye for me. Besides, I don’t have a big sweet tooth anyways.

I say all of this, because I’m fully committed to changing my lifestyle. I feel by eating better and taking better care of my body, I won’t get sick as much. The last 5 years have been completely miserable with getting sick and I’m ready for a change.

So, I’m going to post my progress.

Hopefully better skin, reduced cellulite, a skin glow, eating healthier and healthy in shape body will make me feel better in all aspects.

peace,
ashley

Leave a Reply

