Love love crazy love.


Do you ever meet those couples that are publicly goo goo ga ga over each other, perhaps a little too much? No offense, but those people annoy me. My boyfriend and I try to not be that way. People have always told me they can see how much he really loves me by the way he looks at me from across the room. I’ve never felt I had to overcompensate in public. If the love is there, people will see it, you don’t have to show it!

Joshua moved 13 months ago to go work in South Carolina. We had only known each other four months at the time, and had really only been dating one month. I knew that he needed to move for this job and told him I would not be with him unless he took it. Joshua wanted to work in the nuclear industry and this was his ticket to it. So he moved. It was incredibly hard and has only gotten harder. We see each other quite often.

It’s a 6 hour drive, but I’d do it everyday if I had the time available. We try to see each other every other weekend. Sometimes I stay down there a week at a time. Sometimes we see each other every week. Just depends on our schedule. But it’s not been easy. You really know a guy loves you, if he’s willing to drive 6 hours to see you every weekend (especially if you believe in abstinence before marriage)!

So to help with the distance thing, Joshua and I talk everyday on the phone, occasionally iChat, and write to each other everyday. I have saved every note. Here is one of my favorites. One day, I’d like to make a book of his notes from last year.

At the risk of sounding creepy, I want to be around you much much more than 5 hours every couple of weekends. But in a way being far apart might be good. It certainly helps us begin to really trust one another, because we can’t see what the other is doing all day and we have to believe that we care enough about each other enough to want to tell the truth about what we do and what we really think.

I’m excited every day when you say that you miss me. No matter what goes wrong or what goes right, at the end of the day I still have your voice to listen to, your face to dream about, and your love to keep me warm.

You better be careful saying such nice things to me, I’m beginning to think that I can’t be without you.

P.s. When you get up and look in the mirror this morning, that’s the Ashley I think is most beautiful. Messy hair, no makeup, smelly breath =), t-shirt and pjs. Don’t get me wrong, I really like the way you dress, but without it all, you’re just a pure angel (my Ashley!)

~Joshua

I treasure these notes. Even when I’m there in Aiken, SC, he still sends them when he’s at work. I write him one every night before I go to bed so he gets it in the morning, and when I wake up, I have one to read too! It’s something I look forward to every morning to get my day started. Sometimes writing is easier to express feelings than to actually speak your feelings!

~Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

