Year 2 :: Valentine’s Day

Last year…this is how my Valentine’s Day went.

I drove to Aiken, SC to see my boyfriend. We had only been dating a few months. We went to eat and go shopping in Augusta, GA (about 15 miles west of where he lives in SC). We ate lunch at McAlister’s Deli at the mall, Joshua ordered the broccoli cheddar soup in a bread bowl. BIG mistake! He spent the rest of the day & night in the bathroom, while I watched The Secret Life of Bees & drank wine on the couch by myself. I was sad, but I couldn’t be mad at him. He didn’t ask to get food poisoning.

last year’s photo…josh looking sick on the couch.

So this year, I once again decided to drive to Aiken, SC. But some weather phenomenon decided to get in my way. You would think the forces of nature were against me with as many crazy weather incidents I’ve run into on my way to Aiken. This time Atlanta and much of the south got record breaking snow & ice. So my initial plan was to leave on Friday morning, but that was a NO GO. After much investigating on “beatthetraffic.org”, I decided to risk my life and my car and drive down there. I said come hell or high water, I was going to have a good holiday with my boyfriend. (Xmas=got appendicitis, my birthday=threw up all night).

Surprisingly, no one was really on the roads, and they weren’t hazardous to drive on. The temperate got up in the mid 40s the futher south I drove, so everything was melted.

I got to Aiken in time to grab some dinner and head to Columbia, SC to the Comedy House for a show. It was stinking hilarious and I recommend seeing a great comedy show at least once in your life! They were both a little vulgar with their language, but it was still funny. Joshua and I sat up front and got made fun of most of the night. It was hilarious! The lady even made Josh get up on stage. We had no idea who was going to be doing the comedy that night and had no idea if they would be good, but we enjoyed it.

We saw this guy

and this lady (this is the only video I could find)

All in all, it was a good weekend. We saw Valentine’s Day at the theatre. It was good. It was nice to just spend time with him!



~Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

