A new style.

I used to never look at other photographers’ work, because I didn’t want their work to influence mine. I wanted to be original, I hate when people hand me a photo and say I want to be shot just like this. Then I realized, whether I did look at other work or not, nothing is completely original.

So I started reading a few blogs of other photographers and keeping up with their work occasionally. And I came to this conclusion today…

Everyone seems to be doing the exact same thing and I’m tired of seeing it. The wedding photographers here in Nashville, TN are doing the same shots every time they shoot a wedding, only the couples change. I’m ready for some new stuff and I’m trying to come up with some.

I realize art goes through eras and people adapt styles from each other. The past few years everyone was doing the grunge gothic style. I’m going to come up with my own thing.

I’m not a follower and never have been. It just doesn’t work for me. My hat goes off to those who can mimic other people’s work…some of the best artists in history studied under master artists, mimicking their paintings. I just can’t do it.

When I do a photo shoot, I like to study the client. Get to know them briefly and then just start shooting. I don’t prepare myself with ideas before a shoot. I’m constantly thinking one step ahead of what my next shot will be. After a shoot, I’m mentally drained, but it works for me.

There are some things you just can’t plan out…

I DEFINITELY would never have thought it would rain on this wedding day. But we improvised and used umbrellas. Expressions like that cannot be planned! šŸ™‚

~Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

