I was "blind"…but now I "see" it

This all may sound cliche, but it was how I truly felt today.

I woke up this morning and got ready for church. I was running late, so I had to sit in the back. While the sermon was great, I found myself intrigued by something else.

A lady and her husband walked in and sat in front of me. I noticed he was guiding her as they walked. Then I realized she had on sunglasses. It was pretty obvious that she was blind. He had his arm around her through the entire service. It brought tears to my eyes when I realized how attentive he was to her.

I realized I am an incredibly undeserving and ungrateful person. I realized how blessed I am to have the ability to see. I started thinking how terrible it would be if I went blind. How would I cook, clean, drive? My world would collapse. I am a photographer and graphic designer, my world revolves around color and design. If I were to lose my vision, it would stop me from doing my dream, my calling.

And that got me thinking about how I need to start being thankful that I have eyes. I get in funks where I feel I’m inadequate with what I do, but I’ve been given these eyes for a reason and I need to fulfill that purpose and stop complaining about how hard life is.

~Ashley DeYoung

One thought on “I was "blind"…but now I "see" it

Leave a Reply

