Post Grad…life after college

-Glass of wine…check.
-email read & answered…check.
-facebook update…check.
-nightly phone chat with my sweetheart…check.
-time for bed…check.
-Asleep…???no check???

I’m up and it’s getting late. I used to stay up till 4 or 5 am in college and sleep all day. I had the privilege of having afternoon/late evening classes.

That’s exactly what I’m thinking about right now. College. I’m thinking about Aug. 8, 2009. The day I graduated. I’m remembering that feeling I had. That sense of accomplishment. The overwhelming sense of gratitude I had for the people that came to see me walk and that came to my party. I loved that feeling. I was excited.

I decided I want a party because I spent 5.5 years going to school and it was a bumpy ride of heart ache, break ups, loss of friends, indecisiveness, 2 years of being sick, growth, knowledge, love, friendships, independence and accomplishments.

My mom took pictures of my for my graduation…


She did a fabulous job I might add, and we went with this colored photo above for the invitations which I handmade…

And by hand-making…I mean I made the paper for the invitations. My last class in college was paper making, so I thought I’d put my skills into use!


The paper with the picture on it was made from recycled papers. I made pulp from old college essays, scantrons, notes and handouts. We had the photo printed on transparency paper in color to give it a really cool finish. When you hold it up to light…the color really pops! Then I printed the open house invite on recycled cardstock.


I used my graphic design skills to create an invitation to the ceremony. It was printed in color on vellum paper so you could see the handmade recycled college papers behind it. You could even see parts of sentences in the recycled paper! It was cool looking!


Then we used card stock and rolled it through a crimping tool and got that corrugated paper effect on the thing that is wrapped around the invitation. I tied it off with a ribbon and sealed it in a matching envelope!

It may seem like a lot of work. But to me it was like a final goodbye for me. I got to grind up my essays and tests from college and create something beautiful from it! I love it still!


Part of my family after the ceremony. That’s my Mom on the left, me, my sister, brother & sister’s husband.


Dress for the ceremony…gotta have 2 dresses πŸ™‚ This one is from Target.


My dress for the afterparty. I got it at this cute shop in Nashville, TN called UAL.


My dad wrote me a poem. I was handed a tissue. I said I’m not going to cry…


They made me read it aloud…I was laughing at parts…


Then I cried. It was so sweet!


My favorite food is Mexican food and I could eat it 3 times a day everyday! So my mom did a Mexican themed party for me. We had margaritas, wraps, salsas, dips, and a lot of different Mexican-style food…


Including Margarita Cupcakes! πŸ™‚

It was such an amazing night for me! I had so much fun and felt so amazing. I don’t think I’ll feel that way until my wedding day. Hopefully that will be soon πŸ˜‰

~Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

