Middle Tennessee Lifestyle photographer Ashley DeYoung Photography CSRA Lifestyle photographer

I had an interesting experience today.

I’ve been out of town for a week. I have so much to catch up on and no time. My car tags expire May 31, so basically I have till tomorrow to do it. I haven’t done laundry in weeks, I need new brakes & since I’ve waited so long-new rotors too. I’m behind on editing and the sessions are piling up. My room is a mess, my car is dirty and a mess. I need to get my oil changed. I need to order prints & books for clients. I need to pay bills.

So today, I went to get my car tested, I had a 1 hour window to do it, which in Franklin, may not always be enough time-luckily it was. I drove to Nashville afterward to eat at Panera and do some photo editing/email catching up…on my way I lost my vision.

Sounds crazy I know. But while driving I starting noticing spots. I thought to myself, OMG, I’m about to get a migraine. So I pulled into CVS to get some meds to knock it out quickly, and by the time I walked down the aisles, I could only see little spots of color. I must have grabbed 12 different boxes of excederine before I got the right kind. I couldn’t read the labels. I sat there on the floor of CVS holding a bottle of migraine medicine as close to my eye as possible trying to read it. I know people thought I was insane. I got up, and ran into a column in the aisle. Graceful is my middle name.

I started to feel a little better, got some vision back, and drove across the street to Panera. I started to order and it happened again. I sat down, and realized there was nothing I could do but wait it out. It didn’t matter how many photos I needed to edit or the errands that needed to be run, I couldn’t do any of it, because I couldn’t see. It’s kind of scary.

Once again, I realized how precious my eyes are. How much I depend upon them to survive and provide a way of life for me. I sat there in panera bread, hoping that I grabbed the right sandwich from the counter, eating little bites, and attempting to text. By the grace of God I made it home, and spent the rest of the day in a dark room.

It’s amazing how people handle stress differently. My body hates stress. It’s bizarre. My brain wants to keep going and going with no sleep…but my body says NO!

The migraine’s almost gone, so I’m going to catch up on my work. Glad to have my eyesight back. I’d be lost without it.

~Ashley DeYoung

Leave a Reply

