What are you looking for in a wedding photographer? :: Ashley DeYoung Photography Augusta GA wedding photographer

I think many photographers think they know what their clients want.

The reason there is such a huge array of “MomTogs” out there is because they know what a mom wants as far as photos go.

I will be a bride someday soon (hopefully :)) and I know what I want out of my wedding photographer, but I want to know what you want.

I’m planning to “elope” soon. I put that in quotations, because it’s really going to be just our immediate family (hopefully) and us in Savannah GA. I get asked at least once a day what photographer will I use for my wedding.

I respond: “I have no clue”.

Here’s what I’m looking for:
-current
-canon user (I’m biased)
-natural lighting or expert flash user (I hate shadows in photos)
-lots of color, not dull photos I’m over those
-not too trendy
-not a fisheye lens addict
-reasonably priced
-good eye for framing
-able to capture moments that I’d want to remember
-captures the details
-passionate
-artistic
-someone who listens and will do some traditional shots too
-someone always one step ahead
-innovative, do not want someone who mimics for a living

That’s pretty much what I’m looking for.

So what are you looking for? Be honest. Photographers need to know what their clients want from them.

~Ashley DeYoung
Join my facebook page

7 thoughts on “What are you looking for in a wedding photographer? :: Ashley DeYoung Photography Augusta GA wedding photographer

  1. I'm looking for someone who appreciates details. I've spent so much time on the details at my wedding and I'm afraid I won't get to enjoy them. So I want to remember the details through photos! -Kasie Jones

  2. I want someone who makes me feel comfortable in front of the camera. I hate when a photographer is bossy. I'm not a model, I need direction and I get nervous when having my photo taken.

  3. I think it's important to find a photographer that is timeless. There is nothing worse than having super trendy and outdated photos. An experienced photographer is a plus too. It's worth the money to hire a pro and not just a friend with a camera. You only get married once (knock on wood) and you want great photos to remember it by!

  4. Those are all very good points! The details and experience are very good things to look for!Allison-I feel it's important to make clients feel comfortable in front of the camera, because if they aren't it really shows in the photos!~Ashley DeYoung

  5. I too am a photographer and it's important to know the technical stuff. That's what I looked for in my photography at my wedding. I wanted to make sure they knew how to handle poor lighting. Nothing is worse then grainy images blown up.

Leave a Reply

