3 year old portrait session :: Ashley DeYoung Photography :: Nashville TN & Augusta GA portrait photographer

I had a fun session yesterday. Stephanie’s son is adorable & a handful. He’s full of personality and loves to run around and play, like every 3 year old boy does.

Over the past few years, I’ve come to realize with photo session you have to let the child’s personality come out. You can’t force a child to do something they don’t want to do, because the pictures will not turn out very well. It takes lots of patience and negotiating. That’s why I bring my bag of goodies to negotiate & reward the good behavior! 🙂

This little guy wanted to play. (Which never fails when I do a session with a 3 year old at the park-I should know better by now haha!) So we just let him to do what he loved, and I feel that his personality shined in it. I think photos like these are the ones a mother will looks back on and say to their child this is how you were when you were little…this is how I remember you.

Those stern, posed stereotypical shots with a white or light blue backdrop do not bring out any personality. I think it’s important to let kids be kids during a photo session, even though it’s more exhausting on my part chasing them around, it’s well worth it!

You can tell in this photo that’s he’s thinking hard about something he really wants to do.
~Ashley DeYoung
ashleydeyoung.com
facebook.com/ashleydeyoungphotography

Leave a Reply

